NaWriPoMo To my beautiful daughter (and her’s)

154403_3908662007494_1796519880_n

To Nicola

 

I still wear the touch

of your skinny arm

snaking round my neck;

indelible.

 

My cheek is still embossed

with kisses

from lashes

fluttering

like hummingbird wings.

 

I can still smell

the bath-time scent of you –

Johnson’s baby shampoo,

Pears soap –

the steamy sweetness

like ripened apples

in a summer orchard.

Now the tiny arms

around my neck,

belong to your children.

We bathe them;

polish them

until they glisten.

 

Making new memories.

 

 

©theeditoffice 2013

3 Comments

  1. the first few lines seemed like i am reading something from my heart about my daughter….Johnson Baby shampoo…cute

  1. NaPoWriMo (# 9): Vermilion | Thinking aloud….
