NaPoWriMo Tiny Things (Remind Me)

English: Magnifying glass renderered with unre...

Rainbow fish sugar cookie.

Rainbow fish sugar cookie. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tiny Things

I remember
when I got a miniscule splinter,
you tweezed it, made it go away.
How you sat me on a rug outside,
made fragile necklaces from daisies,
pierced the stems to make them link,
placed the chains gently round my neck.
When my butter-fingers tore them
I watched you comb the lawn
seeking magic four-leafed clovers
for me to make a secret wish.

And, when I was six,
how you sat at night sewing sequins,
like rainbow fish scales, on a dress,
you made from one of yours.

Now, watching you reach
for the magnifying glass

I still remember

 

©theeditoffice2013

 

 

6 Comments

  1. You tell stories through your poems! Poignant! If this is you struggling to write…I cannot begin to imagine how great that novel will be when finished 🙂 Good Luck!

  2. Dave

     /  April 23, 2013

    What is NaPoWriMo? I’ve seen that term a lot lately!

    • National Poetry Writing Month. A poem a day! I thought I’d join in although I’m not very good at poetry – as you’ve probably seen. lol. – but apart from a few short stories I’m struggling to write anything decent at the moment. I would like to say I write fiction and I’m working quite seriously on a novel at the moment which I haven’t posted on here. I shall visit your blog soon. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  1. NaPoWriMo – Day 23 | H is for Happiness
